Encouraged by God’s Word

I was so blessed this morning. I woke up early and ran in to do my Bible Study. I am looking forward to tomorrow because after I do the last day of the week( going from wed.-wed.) I should be going to Pines Baptist with my friend to watch the DVD and do a group discussion. BUT I got the video. I bought it as an individual download from Lifeway.com. So I can watch it and start on the week 5. I am very excited about this study. I mentioned it before and have to mention today’s word. Holy Spirit. Being filled with the Holy Spirit from Old Testament – New Testament.

Holy-Spirit-101
You will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes upon you and you will be my witness in Jerusalem, in Judea, and Samaria, even to the ends of the Earth. Acts 1:8
WOW that is so powerful I have been studying that verse all week. But not just studying trying to do it… Just asking people if I can pray for them, telling my testimony to a bunch of people on the street,  talking to friends and family about what it means. To think globally and act locally. I don’t have the resources to go to the places some do, but,  right here in Hialeah there is a desperate need for the Lord.  This picture kinda sums up that scripture for me. Untitled
Luke 24:46-49
46And said unto them, Thus it is written, and thus it behoved Christ to suffer, and to rise from the dead the third day: 47And that repentance and remission of sins should be preached in his name among all nations, beginning at Jerusalem. 48And ye are witnesses of these things. 49And, behold, I send the promise of my Father upon you: but tarry ye in the city of Jerusalem, until ye be endued with power from on high.

So He wanted them to stay until the Spirit moved them….? No not at all. That was for them to wait for what God had promised with the coming of the Holy Spirit. But, it is not enough for us to be moved by the Spirit now and then. The Spirit of God is with us to give us the power to go and tell everyone at all times. We should not sit and wait for the Spirit to move us because that is His will always.
Notice if the Spirit lives in us always. Listen to what we need to do from these verses.
Number 11:24-25

24And Moses went out, and told the people the words of the Lord, and gathered the seventy men of the elders of the people, and set them round about the tabernacle.
25And the Lord came down in a cloud, and spake unto him, and took of the spirit that was upon him, and gave it unto the seventy elders: and it came to pass, that, when the spirit rested upon them, they prophesied, and did not cease.

2 Chronicles 24:20

20And the Spirit of God came upon Zechariah the son of Jehoiada the priest, which stood above the people, and said unto them, Thus saith God, Why transgress ye the commandments of the Lord, that ye cannot prosper? because ye have forsaken the Lord, he hath also forsaken you

Ezekiel 11:5-6 

5And the Spirit of the Lord fell upon me, and said unto me, Speak; Thus saith the Lord; Thus have ye said, O house of Israel: for I know the things that come into your mind, every one of them.
6Ye have multiplied your slain in this city, and ye have filled the streets thereof with the slain.

Now for New Covenant

Luke 1:39-45

39And Mary arose in those days, and went into the hill country with haste, into a city of Judea; 40And entered into the house of Zacharias, and saluted Elisabeth.
41And it came to pass, that, when Elisabeth heard the salutation of Mary, the babe leaped in her womb; and Elisabeth was filled with the Holy Ghost: 42And she spake out with a loud voice, and said, Blessed art thou among women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb. 43And whence is this to me, that the mother of my Lord should come to me? 44For, lo, as soon as the voice of thy salutation sounded in mine ears, the babe leaped in my womb for joy. 45And blessed is she that believed: for there shall be a performance of those things which were told her from the Lord.

Acts 4:31

31And when they had prayed, the place was shaken where they were assembled together; and they were all filled with the Holy Ghost, and they spake the word of God with boldness.

Acts 9 :17-20

17And Ananias went his way, and entered into the house; and putting his hands on him said, Brother Saul, the Lord, even Jesus, that appeared unto thee in the way as thou camest, hath sent me, that thou mightest receive thy sight, and be filled with the Holy Ghost.
18And immediately there fell from his eyes as it had been scales: and he received sight forthwith, and arose, and was baptized.
19And when he had received meat, he was strengthened. Then was Saul certain days with the disciples which were at Damascus.
20And straightway he preached Christ in the synagogues, that he is the Son of God.

I thought it was very powerful. I have heard it preached that under the new Covenant the Holy Spirit no longer comes and goes from us  and that we have all we are going to get. That you should not pray for an increase of the Spirit. I do believe the coming and going doesn’t still happen, because it does say we grieve the Holy Spirit and we harden our hearts to what God wants and stop listening to the Spirit of God that is living in us. With that said though what about the people who say well I am not a talker I show by my actions. Have you ever heard of a witness who goes to court and shows without talking…? You do not have to be a talker… The Holy Spirit is the Talker. God did not call you cause you qualified He qualifies you to be called. He who has ears hear…God is calling us all. Not into just actions but words as well. This reminds me of a lady who called my house one time and spoke with my room mate for hours about the Lord. Even called back and built a relationship. They could not get out to do it so they just called. I pray for each one reading this today that you get the power of the Holy Spirit and it fills you to overflowing and giving testimony of our Lord.

God’s grace, peace, light, and love in Jesus’ service Doreen

One thought on “Encouraged by God’s Word

  1. Pingback: Doctrine of the Holy Spirit – Part 1 | God's Word for Women

Leave a Reply

