Elijah translated

God is amazing. This was one of the pictures I had scanned to put on here today. Today my husband and I studied this as our daily chronological Bible study.
So after our study I did a devotional of my own and looked up some more commentaries. We had fun in our study looking at all the miracles Elisha starts doing and seeing who it is like the ones Jesus had done. How we are like those oil containers. We are like the new bowl with salt.
But before I get to that…
Just the thought of it gives me goose bumps. Imagine no mortal death… A chariot of fire coming to get you.  Fully knowing today is your day to go be with God…
scan0020

2 Kings 2:1-11
http://bible.org/seriespage/translation-elijah-part-2-2-kings-21-11

Better still what if it was your teacher. Your master…
Imagine being Elisha…? He asked for a double portion of the Spirit of Elijah.
If you read this scripture you see that after Elijah is translated, Elisha takes his cloak and uses it the way he saw Elijah use it. Imagine the chariot seperating you and you just want to give them a hug but they are gone. It happens every day to us here in this fallen world. Our prayers should be, that we walk according to the way our Teacher did and do the things He did. Our teacher you know is Jesus and He gave us the Spirit in baptism to follow Him and fulfill His mission His ministry. He started here just as Elijah did with Elisha. I thank God today for each of you and ask He send people into your paths that need to be ministered to, people who need a miracle. I ask God to allow you to be the miracle maker in someones life today. Help them find there eternal home. I also encourage you to stop holding onto the things of this world. To let go of your cloak and trust God to do the miracle for you.  That cloak he picked up was left behind because Elijah no longer needed it. Not for Elisha to put any of his hopes or beliefs in. (that is just what I got from that) I guess it was a word I needed to hear. RELY on God to do His miracles and fulfill His Promises.
God’s grace, peace, light, and love to you today and always. In Jesus’ service Doreen <^}}}><

Leave a Reply

