Granola Oatmeal Bars

scan0007
The cookbook  I adapted this recipe from is called Fat-Free Baking By: Sandra Woodruff, RD
Really these came out best and I will use this as a basic all purpose Bar with many variations. I enjoy tweeking recipes and flavors Craisins and pistashio for example. But for this first try I followed as close as I could with the ingredients.
Instead of:
1/4 cup of wheat germ (I used a packet of cream of wheat.)
1/4 cup whole wheat flour  (I used flax seed powder.)
1/3 cup raisin or apricots ( dried apple chips and craisins.)
I bet dates, nuts and/or seeds. What about ginger instead of cinnamon? Yummy
Ginger is proved to have a capacity of improving metabolism.
Improved metabolism is the key to lose weight naturally and healthily.
What would you add or change? Let me know if you try this please interesting to hear from you!!!

But, I really needed to use up some old bananas, that was really the part that got me started on making a granola and using banana instead of egg so they would be Vegan. So, my first thought had been to make my A.B.C. P.R.O. Bars. Which for the life of me I can not find the recipe. It was on an old computer… so oh well. I started to look through all my recipes and found that one but it does not call for bananas. Well I got all this stuff. So I started. Nope, no Wheat germ… OK Flax seed I do have. I also have whole red wheat… That won’t work I have cream of wheat. O:) That worked!!! So they come out good but plain old. So onto my A.B.C. P.R.O. Bars( which is Apple, Banana, Cranberry, Peanut butter, Raisin, Oatmeal ) So I searched up those things and looked for energy bars with those ingredients. So here is what I came up with…

A.B.C. P.R.O. Bars
Makes 12-16 bars (depending how large you cut them).
Bars stay fresh for up to one week in a  Zipper bag at room temperature or in the refrigerator longer.
Vegan option: see note below. Gluten Free option: see note below.
Ingredients:
2 and 1/2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats (I used quick oats)
1/4 cup dark brown sugar, loosely packed (or light brown sugar)
1 teaspoon baking powder     1/2 teaspoon salt     1 teaspoon ground            cinnamon
1/2 cup milk (regular, almond milk, or even powdered fat-free)
(I used 1/4 c of ff milk and 1/4 c Apple butter)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract ( what about a variation here)
1 large egg (or 1 “flax” egg – see note below for vegan option)
(2 Tbsp flax and no water added another banana so I used 3 bananas total)
2 large very ripe bananas, mashed      1/3 cup creamy peanut butter
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips   and or     1/2 cup peanut butter chips
( I used 1/2 cup diced dried apple, 1/2 cup craisins, and 1/2 cup shredded coconut)

Cover of "Fat-free Baking"

Cover of Fat-free Baking

Instructions
Preheat oven to 350F degrees. Spray 8×8 square (or 9×9 inch) baking pan with cooking spray or line with parchment paper. Set aside.
Mix together oats, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Add in the milk, vanilla, and egg. Mix together until evenly combined. Add mashed bananas, peanut butter, chocolate chips, and peanut butter chips. Stir well.
Pour the mixture into the pan and bake for 20 minutes. Allow to cool and cut into bars.

Notes: these bars can easily be made vegan by using vegan chocolate chips + vegan putter butter chips and using a “flax egg” instead of a regular egg. Flax egg = mix 1 tbsp ground flax with 3 tbsp warm water and let it sit for 10 minutes while it “gels” up. Use the “flax gel” as a replacement for the egg.
* make sure your oats are certified gluten free to ensure these bars will be gluten free.

2 thoughts on “Granola Oatmeal Bars

    • Thanks so much for checking me out and please continue to follow me as I try to expand my culinary skills with fat-free, gluten free, sugar-free, salt-free, starch free, meat free, organic cooking!!!

Leave a Reply

